About the International Myeloma Society


The International Myeloma Society (IMS) Subcommittees were formed in 2016.


Each of the coordinators of the different subcommittees will take the lead in order to activate the corresponding committee and to define and implement specific actions.

Financial Committee Shaji Kumar

Sagar Lonial, Angela Dispenzieri, Angelo Maiolino

Mission Statement: Recommend financial policies, goals, and budgets that support the mission, values, and strategic goals of the organization.

Membership Committee Donna Reece

Giampaolo Merlini (co-chair) Kazuyuki Shimizu, Vania Hungria, Sonja Zweegman

Mission Statement: Develop new and innovative ways to attract new members as well as retain current membership via multiple mediums including the webpage of the Society.

Education Committee Nikhil Munshi

Philippe Moreau, Herman Einsele, Irene Ghobrial, Maria Victoria Mateos Manteca, Joy Ho, Donna Reece, Robert Orlowski, Sundar Jagannath

Mission Statement: The central role of the educational committee is to provide, through various means, myeloma related education to both healthcare providers as well as patients.  This committee will develop and organize various printed, electronic, social media, and educational seminars to present state-of-the-art information on myeloma therapies and patient management.  It will also support development of programs and various activities to promote basic laboratory research as well as translational applications.  It will supervise various educational programs globally on a yearly basis following major hematologic and/or oncology meetings (ASCO, ASH, EHA and IMW) to inform the physicians about advances in myeloma as well as providing guidance in utilizing the novel diagnostic and therapeutic means available.

Awards Committee Douglas Joshua

Robert Kyle (co-chair), Hirokazu Murakami, Gareth Morgan, Mario Boccadoro, Paul Richardson, Heinz Ludwig, Michel Attal, Vania Hungria, Donna Reece

Mission Statement: To establish the application process for the three major awards. The Waldenström's award, the Bart Barlogie Clinical Therapeutics award and the Ken Anderson Translational Research award, given in recognition of the seminal contributions these physicians have made to the understanding and therapy of myeloma.

In addition, we have established travel awards for young investigators to encourage attendance at the myeloma workshop, the premier myeloma meeting of our association.

Workshop Committee Sagar Lonial

Tierry Facon, Angela Dispenzieri, Giampaolo Merlini, Meletios-Athanassios Dimopoulos, Steve Treon, Vincent Rajkumar

Mission Statement: To standardize and organize decision making around evaluation of IMW Organizing Committee and locations. This committee will solicit applications, evaluate applications, and score applications with the intent of objectively and transparently deciding which city and group will be awarded the opportunity to host the International Myeloma Workshop in odd calendar years.

Scientific Committee Philippe Moreau

Michele Cavo, Hervé Avet-Loiseau, Faith Davies, Keith Stewart, Pieter Sonneveld, Nikhil Munshi, Noopur Raje, Wee Joo Chng

Mission Statement: The role of the scientific committee is to provide guidance for the scientific program for the meetings organized under the auspices of IMS including the biennial International Myeloma Workshop. The committee will review and approve the scientific program for the meetings. It will also lead the efforts to collate important presentations from major meetings and make them available for the members. It will play an active role in reviewing and providing necessary guidance to scientific activities that are being planned by the IMS, including Educational seminars at emerging countries.