Waldenström Award

The Waldenström Award (WA) is given by the IMS at each International Myeloma Workshop (IMW) starting in 1989. This award is given to outstanding researchers in recognition to their contributions to the myeloma field.  The award is named for Professor Jan Waldenström, who was a pioneer in treating blood cancers.

Each member of the IMS Board and each member of the Award Subcommitee Committee selected two candidates and the four with the most votes were nominated for the Waldenström Award. All of the four nominees are then asked to complete the Documents and Merits developed by the Awards Sub- Committee, which is circulated among the electors.

Final Election:
The members of the IMS Board and members of the Awards Subcommittee , will vote for only one nominee and the one who obtains the most votes becomes the awardee.  

Previous Award Winners
1989 D. Bergsagel – deceased (April 25, 1925 – October 20, 2007)
1991 R. Kyle
1993 S. Salmon – deceased (May 8, 1936-October 6, 1999)
1995 M. Potter – deceased (February 27, 1924 – June 18, 2013)
1997 R. Alexanian
1999 B. Barlogie
2001 H. Mellstedt
2003 K. Anderson
2005 J-L Harousseau
2007 J. San Miguel
2009 B. Durie
2011 W. M. Kuehl
2013 N. Munshi
2015 M. Attal

The Waldenström Committee:
The process consisted of establishment of the so-called Waldenström Committee in 2015 composed of 10 recognized persons in the myeloma field and also representing different geographical areas. In 2016 the Awards Subcommittee was formed and the current composition is - Douglas Joshua, Chair, Robert Kyle, Co-Chair, Hirokaza Murakami, Gareth Morgan, Mario Boccadoro, Paul Richardson, Heinz Ludwig, Michel Attal, Donna Reece, and Vania Hungira. The Awards Subcommittee elaborated the basis for a structured document of Merits (CV) to be asked to the potential nominees.


If you have any questions or require additional information regarding the Waldenstöm Award, please contact adminassistant@myelomasociety.org