Each of the coordinators of the different subcommittees will take the lead in order to activate the corresponding committee and to define and implement specific actions.

Financial Committee Kenneth Anderson, Sagar Lonial

Jesus San Miguel, Philippe Moreau, Meletios-Athanassios Dimopoulos, Shaji Kumar

Mission Statement: Recommend financial policies, goals, and budgets that support the mission, values, and strategic goals of the organization.

Membership Committee Vania Hungria, Sonja Zweegman

Donna Reece, Kazuyuki Shimizu, JaeHoon Lee, Lugui Qiu, Faith Davies, Hartmut Goldschmidt

Mission Statement: Develop new and innovative ways to attract new members as well as retain current membership via multiple mediums including the webpage of the Society.

Education Committee Noopur Raje, Thierry Facon

Philippe Moreau, Hermann Einsele, Hari Parameswaran, P. Joy Ho, Robert Orlowski, Evangelos Terpos, Nizar Bahlis, Francesca Gay

Mission Statement: The central role of the educational committee is to provide, through various means, myeloma related education to both healthcare providers as well as patients.  This committee will develop and organize various printed, electronic, social media, and educational seminars to present state-of-the-art information on myeloma therapies and patient management.  It will also support development of programs and various activities to promote basic laboratory research as well as translational applications.  It will supervise various educational programs globally on a yearly basis following major hematologic and/or oncology meetings (ASCO, ASH, EHA and IMW) to inform the physicians about advances in myeloma as well as providing guidance in utilizing the novel diagnostic and therapeutic means available.

Awards Committee Jean-Luc Harousseau, Robert Kyle

Kenneth Anderson, Giampolo Merlini, Gosta Gahrton

Mission Statement: To establish the application process for the three major awards. The Waldenström’s Award, the Bart Barlogie Award and the Ken Anderson Award, given in recognition of the seminal contributions these physicians have made to the understanding and therapy of myeloma.

In addition, we have established travel awards for young investigators to encourage attendance at the myeloma workshop, the premier myeloma meeting of our association.

Workshop Committee Shaji Kumar, Maria-Victoria Mateos

Philippe Moreau, Sagar Lonial, Steve Treon, Vincent Rajkumar, Kenneth Anderson, Amrita Krishnan, Angelo Maiolino, Katja Weisel

Mission Statement: : To standardize and organize decision making around evaluation of the IMS Annual Meeting Organizing Committee and locations. This committee will solicit applications, evaluate applications, and score applications with the intent of objectively and transparently deciding which city and group will be awarded the opportunity to host the IMS Annual Meeting each year

Publication Committee Meletios-Athanassios Dimopoulos, Pieter Sonneveld

Sundar Jagannath, Maria-Victoria Mateos, Hervé Avet-Loiseau, Evangelos Terpos, Michele Cavo, Keith Stewart, Irene Ghobrial, Paola Neri, Niels Van de donk

Career Development Committee Suzanne Lentzsch, Elena Zamagni

Marc Raab, Xavier Leleu, Stathis Kastritis, Shaji Kumar, Wee joo Chng, Enrique Ocio, Gordon Cook

Why Become a Member

The International Myeloma Society is a professional, scientific, and medical society established to bring together clinical and experimental scientists involved in the study of myeloma. The purpose of this society is to promote research, education, clinical studies (including diagnosis and treatment), workshops, conferences, and symposia on all aspects of multiple myeloma worldwide. The IMS is a membership organization comprised of basic research scientists, and clinical investigators in the field along with physicians and other healthcare practitioners.

Stay updated on our Events