Ken Anderson Basic and Translational Research Award

Established by IMS to honor the seminal contributions of Professor Ken Anderson to bench to bedside translational research. The Ken Anderson Basic and Translational Research Award will be given to an investigator to recognize excellence in translational research in myeloma

Ken Anderson Award - Myeloma Society

Irene Ghobrial, MD accepts the 2017 Ken Anderson Award.



If you have any questions or require additional information regarding the Ken Anderson Basic and Translational Research Award, please contact


Past Winner Profile

Dr. Irene Ghobrial is an Associate Professor at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute (DFCI), Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA and an Associate member of the Broad Institute, Cambridge, MA. She is the director of the Michele & Stephen Kirsch Laboratory and co-director of the Center for Prevention of Progression (CPOP) at DFCI. In addition, she is the co-leader of the Blood Cancer Research Partnership (BCRP), a consortium for innovative clinical trials of community oncology sites coordinated by DFCI.

She received her medical degree from Cairo University School of Medicine, Egypt. She completed her internal medicine training at Wayne State University, MI, and her hematology/oncology subspecialty training at Mayo Clinic College of Medicine, MN.

Her research focuses on understanding mechanisms of tumor progression from early precursor conditions such as monoclonal gammopathy of undetermined significance (MGUS) and Smoldering disease to symptomatic Multiple Myeloma (MM) and Waldenstrom Macroglobulinemia (WM). She specifically focuses on the role of the malignant bone marrow niche in regulating disease progression. She is interested in the development of new molecular/genomic markers that predict progression in precursor conditions which can identify patients who should be eligible for therapeutic interventions to prevent progression or potentially cure the disease at the early stages of the disease before clonal evolution occurs.

She authored or co-authored over 250 publications and book chapters and has received funding support from the National Cancer Institute as well as multiple foundations including Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, Multiple Myeloma Research Foundation, Stand Up to Cancer and International Myeloma Foundation. She has received multiple awards including membership in the American Society of Clinical Investigation (ASCI), Robert A. Kyle Award for Research in Waldenstrom Macroglobulinemia, and Mentor of the Year Award at DFCI in 2014.

Why Become a Member

The International Myeloma Society is a professional, scientific, and medical society established to bring together clinical and experimental scientists involved in the study of myeloma. The purpose of this society is to promote research, education, clinical studies (including diagnosis and treatment), workshops, conferences, and symposia on all aspects of multiple myeloma worldwide. The IMS is a membership organization comprised of basic research scientists, and clinical investigators in the field along with physicians and other healthcare practitioners.

Stay updated on our Events